Make Server Reset Times Public
Forum » General Gaming » Rust
Joined: 27th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 7
5th Apr 2016

Just got burned pretty bad on a server reset.  I guess the server resets a couple times a day now?  People in chat said they happened at routine times.  Can you please make those times public?
Joined: 30th Dec 2015
Rank: Top Administrators
Likes 464
6th Apr 2016

When did this happen? I didn't get an auto email about it being offline?
Joined: 27th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 7
6th Apr 2016

10:10 PM PST.  The server either resets or times out a couple times per day, since I rejoined.  This is going to become an issue with keeping population if it persists.
Joined: 30th Dec 2015
Rank: Top Administrators
Likes 464
6th Apr 2016

And did it happen again yesterday (Wednesday) around that same timeframe? I disabled a couple of 'monitoring' options.
Joined: 27th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 7
7th Apr 2016

All I know is that when it happened Tuesday, I got burned pretty bad by it.  I complained in chat about random restarts, and several people in chat told me 'they are not random if they happen at the same time every day'; and then told me the time for the nightly reset/timeout.  So it has been happening enough that players in game are aware of them, and when they occur.  One of the great things about the server was it's performance and reliability.  In the couple days I have been back, something has changed for the worse in terms of server performance.
Last Edit: 7th Apr 2016 by FortysixANDtwo
Joined: 30th Dec 2015
Rank: Top Administrators
Likes 464
7th Apr 2016

Lol. This has only been an issue since like Sunday and I am working on it. And, you didn't answer my question. Did it happen lastnight? Some of the settings got reset for some reason so I have been disabling one-two at a time to figure out which one may be causing the problem. But, I can be on that late to see if it restarted or not.
Joined: 27th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 7
7th Apr 2016

Prop, for people who live in American time zones, last night WAS Tuesday. So, yes, it did happen Tuesday night. I don't know if it happened today (Wednesday) because I was not on. But based on the chat on Tuesday, it probably did. I'm legitimately trying to make you aware of server performance concerns, and a response of 'lol' isn't very encouraging. Secondly, if there has been an issue since Sunday and you are working on it, an announcement would be helpful. If we are trying to grow server population, your average Rust player isn't going to be proactive and get on the forums to try to get information.
Last Edit: 7th Apr 2016 by FortysixANDtwo
Joined: 30th Dec 2015
Rank: Top Administrators
Likes 464
7th Apr 2016

Yea no worries man. The time actually did help me narrow it down to one setting. Will be able to verify tonight if it worked or not. For these other 'performance issues', I am assuming it is lag spikes? This is occuring on all our chicago based servers and is not a settings/hardware issue. I had the performance graph (memory/cpu usage) open when this occured over the previous couple days and we remain stable with no spikes at 15-18% / 7-15% usage respectively.
Joined: 5th Dec 2015
Rank: Key leads
Likes 20
7th Apr 2016

lol Hot heads
Forum » General Gaming » Rust
Please login or register to reply.
Chat Box
superhanssolo 23rd Feb
you lost gardens and lumped island? woooot!
Krustbox 23rd Feb
Easy money
OrangeEnergyJeb 23rd Feb
Drats. Really wanted to play Lumpy Gardens and not Lost Island
Angry_Cuban13 23rd Feb
It depends on the time, the map rotation changes at various points of the day
Texas_Flexas 22nd Feb
Big ole lumps in that ole garden
OrangeEnergyJeb 22nd Feb
Map vote rotation is weird. It said next map was Lumpy Gardens but changed to Lost Islands
Texas_Flexas 22nd Feb
Ive never played DS before, but wow, its awesome.
hoopyfrood92 21st Feb
Dead Space is free right now too.
Angry_Cuban13 21st Feb
Hello
Syk3z 21st Feb
Hello, anyone here atm?
TwinGunsLLP 21st Feb
Sure!
Angry_Cuban13 21st Feb
cool thanks Twin
Angry_Cuban13 21st Feb
lol goddamn fat fingers, yeah NFS
TwinGunsLLP 21st Feb
And it has the ///M4 in it so I had to get it lol.
TwinGunsLLP 21st Feb
NOS? You mean NFS? Yes at the start it did, but all has been fixed now. I purposely waited until they fixed that BS before I bought it. It's a really, really fun arcade racer and the graphics are pretty dope.
Angry_Cuban13 21st Feb
might pick up NOS. didn't it have a weird loot boxes system?
TwinGunsLLP 21st Feb
If you've been waiting on Star Wars too, the elite edition is only $31.99 now with the sale.
TwinGunsLLP 21st Feb
Origin has 60% off deal today for many games. Any arcade racing fans, I recommend Need for Speed Payback. Pretty fun!
Angry_Cuban13 21st Feb
So competitive that their server is sitting super empty.
AngryMilks 21st Feb
I too would love to have 60hz and also be stable, if you have any insight into that please let me know.
Online Members
None
Online Guests: 10