Slow ass wifi
Forum » Community » General Discussion
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
5th Aug

After moving I'm stuck on wifi on my desktop. Speeds are supposed to be 15/15 on Fios, but I get 25/25 on my phone via wifi and was getting similar speeds when plugged into the router. Over wifi I was getting anywhere from 3-5 up/down to less than 1/1. Did some googling and found there's apparently issues with the new Creators Update on Windows 10. I've tried a few suggestions and I'm getting like 7-9 up and down now but some of the suggestions I've found online don't seem to work.

https://social.technet.mi ... win10itpronetworking

I've done the following so far:
QuoteFrom there i picked "configure" on my Realtek -
Go to Advanced... Pick wireless mode.  I turned off automatic. and picked IEEE 802.11b/g/n and said ok.
Connectivity seems much more stable.
That seemed to have worked for getting the speeds to a consistent 7-9 up/down.

I also spent last night trying to change the wifi channels around in the router to see if any were better than others. 1-10 were anywhere from .25 up/down to 1-3 up/down. Channel 11 is the only channel where I can get decent speeds and even then no greater than 7-9. And again, these speeds are only on my PC. On my phone connected to the wifi I'm getting up to 25/25 consistently.

What I'm trying now I can't seem to get to work:

QuoteDecreasing your MTU for WiFi interface to 1400 may solve the issue. I have fixed my issue by this method.

0. In the administrator's command prompt, 
1. Check the name of your WiFi interface.
> netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces
2. decrease the size of MTU of the wifi interface. Please replace "Wireless Network Connection" with your WiFi interface name.
> netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Wireless Network Connection" mtu=1400 store=persistent
Running command prompt as admin get this message "The following command was not found:"


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 21st Jan 2016
Rank: BF Admins
Likes 940
5th Aug

Did you try turning it on & off?


Play stupid games, win stupid prizes

Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
5th Aug

Done this as well though it did find an error it didn't seem to do anything in regards to speeds.

Steps to disable Rsc using Microsoft's automated tool:

1) Download the ".diagcab" file located here:

https://aka.ms/diag_cssem ... erg11005

2) Run it, and let it see if it can determine the problem and fix it.

3) Re-test your wireless internet connection.

Seems this, the MTU change, and simply rolling back the update are the 3 steps Microsoft is recommending. There's also patch for the issue apparently, but my updates are all up to date.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
5th Aug

QuoteDid you try turning it on & off?

I'm going to turn you off.



| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
5th Aug

Got the MTU shit to work, but I'm still only getting 5-7 down and 7-10 or so up. Wifi adapter is supposed to handle speeds up to 600.

Also ran the same speed test on a tablet and like my phone it's getting 25 up/down consistently.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 182
5th Aug

Quotewireless isp

...

i've found your problem.
i would try using an external antenna if any of your devices would allow for it.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 46
5th Aug

Have you tried deleting your Windows System32 directory?


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 182
5th Aug

what type of network, 3g/lte/something us specific?
look for a directional antennae type.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 46
5th Aug

I think he needs one of these... 

https://www.google.com/ur ... ust=1502041404162254


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
5th Aug

QuoteI think he needs one of these... 

https://www.google.com/ur ... ust=1502041404162254

...
That map was awesome in Goldeneye.



| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th May 2016
Rank: BF Admins
Likes 94
5th Aug

What band WiFi is your PC, A/B/G/N/AC? Also, what band does your router support? Some bands handle interference better than other because of the wave length, this could be your issue? How far is your PC from your access point? How many walls between?

The best way to defeat these obstacles is like superhansolo suggested if you have a USB wifi adapter try getting a cheap USB extension cable and get the adapter in the open, as close to the access point as possible. If you have built in WiFi, get a USB adapter, if thats not an option, raise your tower off the floor and put as few obstacles between your WiFi adapter and your access point.

OR... Fuck everything I just said and just run an ethernet cable, solves every issue I listed..


Server #1:


Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
5th Aug

Han Fios is fiber through Verizon.

Router is b/g/n iirc, but don't quote me on it. Moving it into the same room 10' from the adapter barely made any difference, was about 20-30' if that originally and only one wall between. Ended up just ordering a long enough ethernet cable to reach the PC. Shitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 182
6th Aug

QuoteHan Fios is fiber through Verizon.

Router is b/g/n iirc, but don't quote me on it. Moving it into the same room 10' from the adapter barely made any difference, was about 20-30' if that originally and only one wall between. Ended up just ordering a long enough ethernet cable to reach the PC. Shitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.

...

got ya. this is what i had in mind, instead of using a whip antenna, you get a directional one.






̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 46
6th Aug

QuoteShitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.

...

Your gaming on a WiFi adapter from Target, cuz your "cable" is too short?


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 18
6th Aug

Quote...

Your gaming on a WiFi adapter from Target, cuz your "cable" is too short?
...

Was long enough for your mom.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 25th May 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 29
6th Aug

Bro, does it have to be wifi?

I used these with great success when my router was well out of range of my PC. Works by plugging in to a power outlet near the modem, run an ethernet cable into it, then plug the other one into a power outlet near your PC and run an ethernet cable to it. As long as you're wiring is all on the same line it works great.

https://www.amazon.com/TR ... ne+adapter&psc=1
Last Edit: 6th Aug by funkadelik
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 46
6th Aug

Quote...

Was long enough for your mom.
...

I wouldn’t brag about that, as she died over 25 years ago… and her remains are in 2 inch cremation urn!


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Forum » Community » General Discussion
Please login or register to reply.
Top Tier Donors
BF Gold (4)
BF Platinum (3)
Events
« Oct 2017 »
M
T
W
T
F
S
S
 
 
 
 
 
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
 
 
 
 
Chat Box
B1G7r33 19th Oct
Twin fan Asus 1070's are $50 off on Newegg, TODAY ONLY
B1G7r33 19th Oct
Twin fan Asus 1070's are $50 off on Newegg, TODAY ONLY
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
That, or I could just stop being a moron with no memory.
Angry_Cuban13 18th Oct
Lol we gonna have to add an exception for you only
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
gg nj
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
I say it all the time too damnit
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
ugh, forgot about the "nj gg" filter again. Sorry.
Derlict 18th Oct
:-O <===( )
Derlict 18th Oct
Damn foreigners always screwing it up for the rest of us.
Angry_Cuban13 18th Oct
I was going to vote ban you for using emojis
KonflicT_RiZe 18th Oct
/Bringit not me
KonflicT_RiZe 18th Oct
yippee ki yay motherfuckers! ;P
Angry_Cuban13 17th Oct
Milks, you're name is so white I couldn't find who wrote the message when I woke up lol
Motorcharge 16th Oct
He did, Cuban already replied to it. 1 week ban, he has 3 days left.
AngryMilks 16th Oct
@stevieskyline, please make a post following the outlines within the ban appeal section please. After that we can move forward with looking into your ban.
stevieskyline 16th Oct
Hey guys, I guess I am banned? What do I have to do to get unbanned?
Angry_Cuban13 16th Oct
Sounds like you should have prevented this, oh well.
NTAK 16th Oct
Yeah Thanks, been working in IT for 30 years...
Angry_Cuban13 16th Oct
Make sure you don't bridge your shit NTAK!
Angry_Cuban13 16th Oct
Yep, some manufacturers started rolling out updates as early as sometime last week I read.
Online Members
AngryMilks
20 minutes ago
Online Guests: 15