Slow ass wifi
Forum » Community » General Discussion
Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

After moving I'm stuck on wifi on my desktop. Speeds are supposed to be 15/15 on Fios, but I get 25/25 on my phone via wifi and was getting similar speeds when plugged into the router. Over wifi I was getting anywhere from 3-5 up/down to less than 1/1. Did some googling and found there's apparently issues with the new Creators Update on Windows 10. I've tried a few suggestions and I'm getting like 7-9 up and down now but some of the suggestions I've found online don't seem to work.

https://social.technet.mi ... win10itpronetworking

I've done the following so far:
QuoteFrom there i picked "configure" on my Realtek -
Go to Advanced... Pick wireless mode.  I turned off automatic. and picked IEEE 802.11b/g/n and said ok.
Connectivity seems much more stable.
That seemed to have worked for getting the speeds to a consistent 7-9 up/down.

I also spent last night trying to change the wifi channels around in the router to see if any were better than others. 1-10 were anywhere from .25 up/down to 1-3 up/down. Channel 11 is the only channel where I can get decent speeds and even then no greater than 7-9. And again, these speeds are only on my PC. On my phone connected to the wifi I'm getting up to 25/25 consistently.

What I'm trying now I can't seem to get to work:

QuoteDecreasing your MTU for WiFi interface to 1400 may solve the issue. I have fixed my issue by this method.

0. In the administrator's command prompt, 
1. Check the name of your WiFi interface.
> netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces
2. decrease the size of MTU of the wifi interface. Please replace "Wireless Network Connection" with your WiFi interface name.
> netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Wireless Network Connection" mtu=1400 store=persistent
Running command prompt as admin get this message "The following command was not found:"


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 21st Jan 2016
Rank: Key leads
Likes 1170
5th Aug 2017

Did you try turning it on & off?


"This community is being dragged down by the balls by Angry_Cuban" - Maverick, 2018


Play stupid games, win stupid prizes

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

Done this as well though it did find an error it didn't seem to do anything in regards to speeds.

Steps to disable Rsc using Microsoft's automated tool:

1) Download the ".diagcab" file located here:

https://aka.ms/diag_cssem ... erg11005

2) Run it, and let it see if it can determine the problem and fix it.

3) Re-test your wireless internet connection.

Seems this, the MTU change, and simply rolling back the update are the 3 steps Microsoft is recommending. There's also patch for the issue apparently, but my updates are all up to date.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

QuoteDid you try turning it on & off?

I'm going to turn you off.



| Twitch | Twitter |

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

Got the MTU shit to work, but I'm still only getting 5-7 down and 7-10 or so up. Wifi adapter is supposed to handle speeds up to 600.

Also ran the same speed test on a tablet and like my phone it's getting 25 up/down consistently.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 242
5th Aug 2017

Quotewireless isp

...

i've found your problem.
i would try using an external antenna if any of your devices would allow for it.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
5th Aug 2017

Have you tried deleting your Windows System32 directory?


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 242
5th Aug 2017

what type of network, 3g/lte/something us specific?
look for a directional antennae type.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
5th Aug 2017

I think he needs one of these... 

https://www.google.com/ur ... ust=1502041404162254


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

QuoteI think he needs one of these... 

https://www.google.com/ur ... ust=1502041404162254

...
That map was awesome in Goldeneye.



| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th May 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 98
5th Aug 2017

What band WiFi is your PC, A/B/G/N/AC? Also, what band does your router support? Some bands handle interference better than other because of the wave length, this could be your issue? How far is your PC from your access point? How many walls between?

The best way to defeat these obstacles is like superhansolo suggested if you have a USB wifi adapter try getting a cheap USB extension cable and get the adapter in the open, as close to the access point as possible. If you have built in WiFi, get a USB adapter, if thats not an option, raise your tower off the floor and put as few obstacles between your WiFi adapter and your access point.

OR... Fuck everything I just said and just run an ethernet cable, solves every issue I listed..


Server #1:


Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

Han Fios is fiber through Verizon.

Router is b/g/n iirc, but don't quote me on it. Moving it into the same room 10' from the adapter barely made any difference, was about 20-30' if that originally and only one wall between. Ended up just ordering a long enough ethernet cable to reach the PC. Shitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 242
6th Aug 2017

QuoteHan Fios is fiber through Verizon.

Router is b/g/n iirc, but don't quote me on it. Moving it into the same room 10' from the adapter barely made any difference, was about 20-30' if that originally and only one wall between. Ended up just ordering a long enough ethernet cable to reach the PC. Shitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.

...

got ya. this is what i had in mind, instead of using a whip antenna, you get a directional one.






̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
6th Aug 2017

QuoteShitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.

...

Your gaming on a WiFi adapter from Target, cuz your "cable" is too short?


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
6th Aug 2017

Quote...

Your gaming on a WiFi adapter from Target, cuz your "cable" is too short?
...

Was long enough for your mom.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 25th May 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 31
6th Aug 2017

Bro, does it have to be wifi?

I used these with great success when my router was well out of range of my PC. Works by plugging in to a power outlet near the modem, run an ethernet cable into it, then plug the other one into a power outlet near your PC and run an ethernet cable to it. As long as you're wiring is all on the same line it works great.

https://www.amazon.com/TR ... ne+adapter&psc=1
Last Edit: 6th Aug 2017 by funkadelik
NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
6th Aug 2017

Quote...

Was long enough for your mom.
...

I wouldn’t brag about that, as she died over 25 years ago… and her remains are in 2 inch cremation urn!


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Forum » Community » General Discussion
Please login or register to reply.
Discord App Widget
Chat Box
Angry_Cuban13 2:21 PM
We have created a new platoon (http://battlelog.battlefi ... 923175877800272817/) please feel free to join!
Angry_Cuban13 2:21 PM
If you are not in Discord (you are wrong) and have not heard this announcement, please read: If you are part of the Murder Inc Gaming 2 Platoon (http://battlelog.battlefi ... 431191647698478865/) please leave that platoon as it was created by Konflict.
Angry_Cuban13 24th May
Post some links brah
Texas_Flexas 23rd May
Jackfrags on YT has some interesting information on gameplay mechanics and such. All the shit you want to hear about seems to be in that video and not the official Dice one. Go figure.
Texas_Flexas 23rd May
Holding out for EA Play
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
"Maybe Hardline wasn't so bad after all" bwhaha
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
"Did I see a transgender in that Panzer"? Hah, some of these comments are killing me.
Da-Jesuss 23rd May
This BF5 looks just like BF1
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
LOL
Angry_Cuban13 23rd May
Someone already said that there's probably gonna be a super racist platoon that's gonna have all the characters black as a fuck you lol
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
I mean looking at Reddit, you have to really, REALLY look to see a single positive comment. It's basically 99.9% bad. Haha
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
I bet they won't even put the nazi symbol in the game.
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
Meh, maybe they'll give you an option in settings to turn off those models hah
Angry_Cuban13 23rd May
>adding females because muh PC
Angry_Cuban13 23rd May
Did you see the Brit with a katana? lmao
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
Looks like a Farcry game. Hah, DICE went full retard.
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
Though look at the picture on this page of the four "soldiers". Lmfao, how do those characters in anyway represent anything from WW2? Lawlz https://www.pcgamesn.com/ ... field-5-premium-pass
TwinGunsLLP 23rd May
I'll still get it though once it's released and some reviews come out. With any luck, the stupid feminist crap will only be in the single player which I never bother with anyway.
Online Members
PrOpR1oCePtIoN
15 minutes ago

ChromeMagnum
47 minutes ago
Online Guests: 11