Slow ass wifi
Forum » Community » General Discussion
Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

After moving I'm stuck on wifi on my desktop. Speeds are supposed to be 15/15 on Fios, but I get 25/25 on my phone via wifi and was getting similar speeds when plugged into the router. Over wifi I was getting anywhere from 3-5 up/down to less than 1/1. Did some googling and found there's apparently issues with the new Creators Update on Windows 10. I've tried a few suggestions and I'm getting like 7-9 up and down now but some of the suggestions I've found online don't seem to work.

https://social.technet.mi ... win10itpronetworking

I've done the following so far:
QuoteFrom there i picked "configure" on my Realtek -
Go to Advanced... Pick wireless mode.  I turned off automatic. and picked IEEE 802.11b/g/n and said ok.
Connectivity seems much more stable.
That seemed to have worked for getting the speeds to a consistent 7-9 up/down.

I also spent last night trying to change the wifi channels around in the router to see if any were better than others. 1-10 were anywhere from .25 up/down to 1-3 up/down. Channel 11 is the only channel where I can get decent speeds and even then no greater than 7-9. And again, these speeds are only on my PC. On my phone connected to the wifi I'm getting up to 25/25 consistently.

What I'm trying now I can't seem to get to work:

QuoteDecreasing your MTU for WiFi interface to 1400 may solve the issue. I have fixed my issue by this method.

0. In the administrator's command prompt, 
1. Check the name of your WiFi interface.
> netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces
2. decrease the size of MTU of the wifi interface. Please replace "Wireless Network Connection" with your WiFi interface name.
> netsh interface ipv4 set subinterface "Wireless Network Connection" mtu=1400 store=persistent
Running command prompt as admin get this message "The following command was not found:"


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 21st Jan 2016
Rank: Key leads
Likes 1238
5th Aug 2017

Did you try turning it on & off?


"This community is being dragged down by the balls by Angry_Cuban" - Maverick, 2018


Play stupid games, win stupid prizes

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

Done this as well though it did find an error it didn't seem to do anything in regards to speeds.

Steps to disable Rsc using Microsoft's automated tool:

1) Download the ".diagcab" file located here:

https://aka.ms/diag_cssem ... erg11005

2) Run it, and let it see if it can determine the problem and fix it.

3) Re-test your wireless internet connection.

Seems this, the MTU change, and simply rolling back the update are the 3 steps Microsoft is recommending. There's also patch for the issue apparently, but my updates are all up to date.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

QuoteDid you try turning it on & off?

I'm going to turn you off.



| Twitch | Twitter |

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

Got the MTU shit to work, but I'm still only getting 5-7 down and 7-10 or so up. Wifi adapter is supposed to handle speeds up to 600.

Also ran the same speed test on a tablet and like my phone it's getting 25 up/down consistently.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 247
5th Aug 2017

Quotewireless isp

...

i've found your problem.
i would try using an external antenna if any of your devices would allow for it.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
5th Aug 2017

Have you tried deleting your Windows System32 directory?


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 247
5th Aug 2017

what type of network, 3g/lte/something us specific?
look for a directional antennae type.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
5th Aug 2017

I think he needs one of these... 

https://www.google.com/ur ... ust=1502041404162254


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

QuoteI think he needs one of these... 

https://www.google.com/ur ... ust=1502041404162254

...
That map was awesome in Goldeneye.



| Twitch | Twitter |

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
5th Aug 2017

Han Fios is fiber through Verizon.

Router is b/g/n iirc, but don't quote me on it. Moving it into the same room 10' from the adapter barely made any difference, was about 20-30' if that originally and only one wall between. Ended up just ordering a long enough ethernet cable to reach the PC. Shitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 247
6th Aug 2017

QuoteHan Fios is fiber through Verizon.

Router is b/g/n iirc, but don't quote me on it. Moving it into the same room 10' from the adapter barely made any difference, was about 20-30' if that originally and only one wall between. Ended up just ordering a long enough ethernet cable to reach the PC. Shitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.

...

got ya. this is what i had in mind, instead of using a whip antenna, you get a directional one.






̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
6th Aug 2017

QuoteShitty adapter is going back to Target tomorrow.

...

Your gaming on a WiFi adapter from Target, cuz your "cable" is too short?


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Motorcharge (Banned)
Joined: 30th Jul 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 52
6th Aug 2017

Quote...

Your gaming on a WiFi adapter from Target, cuz your "cable" is too short?
...

Was long enough for your mom.


| Twitch | Twitter |

Joined: 25th May 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 31
6th Aug 2017

Bro, does it have to be wifi?

I used these with great success when my router was well out of range of my PC. Works by plugging in to a power outlet near the modem, run an ethernet cable into it, then plug the other one into a power outlet near your PC and run an ethernet cable to it. As long as you're wiring is all on the same line it works great.

https://www.amazon.com/TR ... ne+adapter&psc=1
Last Edit: 6th Aug 2017 by funkadelik
NTAK (Banned)
Joined: 25th Jun 2016
Rank: --
Likes 101
6th Aug 2017

Quote...

Was long enough for your mom.
...

I wouldn’t brag about that, as she died over 25 years ago… and her remains are in 2 inch cremation urn!


I suffer from a Empathy Deficiency Disorder, and I don't think I care.

Forum » Community » General Discussion
Please login or register to reply.
Discord App Widget
Chat Box
superhanssolo 6:06 PM
not if dice doesn't do anything to "fix it".. bf V visuals are bad, headache inducing, optometrist conspiracy levels bad. so "my fix" is to run lightning quality on ultra and rest on medium to low, having said that, i really like the clean "cheat" look lol
TwinGunsLLP 2:18 PM
Lolll, BFV TF2 edition. OF COURSE it's cheating, what a dumb question!! https://www.youtube.com/w ... atch?v=eixkJ_7VbQE
TwinGunsLLP 2:08 PM
After playing BR for a few days, I can see why it's so popular with streamers. It's just a time KILLER. I played three hours last night and it felt like 20 minutes.
TwinGunsLLP 2:07 PM
7.62 will have to do, no melee weapons in the game right now.
lordteapot 12:25 PM
s the only way to be sure
lordteapot 12:25 PM
stab her in the face
TwinGunsLLP 19th Jan
Lots of amazing pickoff too, like there's no way somebody could have known where I was without walls. Oh well, nothing new with the cheats I guess.
TwinGunsLLP 19th Jan
Annnnd of course since it's a free game, running into a bunch of cheats. Lazering across the map etc. Grrrrrrrrrrr
TwinGunsLLP 18th Jan
I just suck terribly at it now, I make a ton of dumb mistakes but learning!
TwinGunsLLP 18th Jan
Shroud's been playing that a lot, might do so. Thanks!
Angry_Cuban13 18th Jan
Check out Tarkov if you really get into BR
TwinGunsLLP 18th Jan
Took about 20 tries, but finally *won* a round heh. GET TO DA CHOPPA!
TwinGunsLLP 18th Jan
ALOT of fun, and you can't beat FREE right?
TwinGunsLLP 18th Jan
In ROE, all the attachment etc. for guns automatically attach to your weapons as soon as you pick them up. There also seems to be far less clutter etc to worry about, and the new map is really well done. I'm a newbie to the genre and didn't feel as intimidated as I did when playing PUBG.
TwinGunsLLP 18th Jan
If anybody is looking for a fun BR type game to play FREE, be sure to try Ring of Elysium. I've tried BR in the past, but if you're new to the genre it can seem kind of overwhelming in PUBG with all the shit you can pick up.
TwinGunsLLP 14th Jan
Hah, he raged out and unplugged them lol
TwinGunsLLP 14th Jan
LoL, if anyone watches DrDisRespect, he's playing Fortnite today with foot pedals. Absolutely hilarious.
TwinGunsLLP 14th Jan
Yep Hans, randoms suck! I feel like I'm playing with bots!
Online Members
None
Online Guests: 27