Is G-Sync really worth it?
Forum » Community » General Discussion
Lyst1349 (Banned)
Joined: 3rd Aug 2016
Rank: --
Likes 35
29th Sep 2016

Hey Guys,

I think it's time for me to think about buying a new monitor...I've done some reading up on G-Sync and Freesync, even though G-Sync would be the only thing that could be implemented as I have always used NVIDIA cards. The way I've understood G-Sync is that it only really helps in situations where you suffer from large variations in FPS. What do you guys think, is G-Sync a must have feature or will I be fine with a monitor with a high refresh rate? If you have any specific suggestions or find that your setup works very well please post them below!

Thnx in advance
Like (1)



File:
Size:
216.71 KB
Rate:
  0 votes
Downloads:
95
Time:
29th Sep 2016
Resolution:
708 x 887
Joined: 23rd Jan 2016
Rank: BFLevelTwo
Likes 17
29th Sep 2016

I have a G-Sync monitor, and I would never go back.

Also, a high refresh rate monitor is a significantly better gaming experience. 60Hz looks like a slide show after using 144Hz for about 1 month. I've had it for a year now, never going back.

To answer your question, it depends on the graphics settings you expect to play on, and the resolution you expect to play on. 1440p at 144Hz is probably not doable with the 780Ti without dips at ultra in BF4. With BF1 around the corner, not a chance. G-Sync will help with this.
Like (1)


Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 247
29th Sep 2016

since you already have notAMDvidia get the g-sync or at minimum get a 144hz monitor and make your own g-stink :P
how to g-stink -
set your monitor refresh rate to match your max. steady game fps - with my gtx760 and mid to low bf4 settings this equals to 120Hz/fps (make sure your monitor supports it)
make a game config (C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 4) and set these 2 as following-
GameTime.MaxVariableFps 120.000000
PerfOverlay.DrawFps 1
your game should run at a steady 120 fps and no houmous! i mean dips. to speed things up you can try running your game in 32 bit and dx10, although with your gtx780 that won't be necessary.
if you drive slower than 120 mph the bus will explode and sandra bullock will die. read, your monitor will go out of sync and will default to 60Hz, where if you were using a real thing you would have a 40-144 range or something. with zero tearing and zero input lag, so it's a lot better.


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 247
29th Sep 2016

this works particularly well with the above setup: -
no scaling - perform scaling on display (not GPU!) - tick overide the scaling mode set by games and programs.
and bob's your uncle!


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

Lyst1349 (Banned)
Joined: 3rd Aug 2016
Rank: --
Likes 35
29th Sep 2016

Quotesince you already have notAMDvidia get the g-sync or at minimum get a 144hz monitor and make your own g-stink :P
how to g-stink -
set your monitor refresh rate to match your max. steady game fps - with my gtx760 and mid to low bf4 settings this equals to 120Hz/fps (make sure your monitor supports it)
make a game config (C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 4) and set these 2 as following-
GameTime.MaxVariableFps 120.000000
PerfOverlay.DrawFps 1
your game should run at a steady 120 fps and no houmous! i mean dips. to speed things up you can try running your game in 32 bit and dx10, although with your gtx780 that won't be necessary.
if you drive slower than 120 mph the bus will explode and sandra bullock will die. read, your monitor will go out of sync and will default to 60Hz, where if you were using a real thing you would have a 40-144 range or something. with zero tearing and zero input lag, so it's a lot better.
...all of what you just said makes so much beautiful sense to me, it reads like the most beautiful poem...!120fps and no homous! I mean dips"...i lost my shit at that XD

thanks for the input bud.




Joined: 19th Jan 2016
Rank: Member
Likes 247
29th Sep 2016

no probs lol
let us know how you go if you test any of this :D
Like (1)


̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ M ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐i ͐ͩ͋̂G ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂ ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿ -̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐
̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐ ͐ͩ͋̂S ̗͓̘͓̺̑̆ͭͬ͐UP ̥̺͐ͩ͋̂̿eR-̮͈͓͎͉͓ͩ̆̓ͪ̐̐HA͓͉̝̳̦̘̮̖̬ͧ̓̒̔ͮN͔͎̝͉̥ͩͫ̏s

Lyst1349 (Banned)
Joined: 3rd Aug 2016
Rank: --
Likes 35
30th Sep 2016


@FullThrottle

The build you posted above on Part picker features a free-sync monitor, is this the one you actively use or is it a seconday non -gaming monitor?




Joined: 23rd Jan 2016
Rank: BFLevelTwo
Likes 17
30th Sep 2016

Quote@FullThrottle

The build you posted above on Part picker features a free-sync monitor, is this the one you actively use or is it a seconday non -gaming monitor?
...

Shit, that's the wrong monitor. ASUS and their naming conventions... I have a PG278Q, not a MG278Q. It is the 144Hz ROG Swift. I have updated the link. Sorry about the confusion.

I haven't added my 2 secondary monitors to the link. I should do that at some point.

FYI, there is also a 165Hz ROG Swift called PG279Q.
Like (1)


Last Edit: 30th Sep 2016 by FullThrottle099
Joined: 29th Jan 2016
Rank: BF Admins
Likes 36
30th Sep 2016

I run 2 28" 4k monitors, one for the game and one for other stuff like ts. 4k runs at 30fps on my 1070 amazingly well, and I haven't had any issue being competitive in game. I do have to downsize to 2k though because battlefield crashes on nextmap in 4k for some reason
Joined: 9th Jan 2016
Rank: Key leads
Likes 323
30th Sep 2016

QuoteI have a G-Sync monitor, and I would never go back.

Also, a high refresh rate monitor is a significantly better gaming experience. 60Hz looks like a slide show after using 144Hz for about 1 month. I've had it for a year now, never going back.

To answer your question, it depends on the graphics settings you expect to play on, and the resolution you expect to play on. 1440p at 144Hz is probably not doable with the 780Ti without dips at ultra in BF4. With BF1 around the corner, not a chance. G-Sync will help with this.
I had a 780Ti on ultra at Bf4 with 144 hz and had no issues with FPS drops/Stutter. I now have a GTX970 and still the same. BTW you don't need ULTRA graphics to enjoy games

Like (1)


Live every evening around 7 PM EST @ http://www.twitch.tv/stup ... idk0ala

Joined: 23rd Jan 2016
Rank: BFLevelTwo
Likes 17
30th Sep 2016

QuoteI had a 780Ti on ultra at Bf4 with 144 hz and had no issues with FPS drops/Stutter. I now have a GTX970 and still the same. BTW you don't need ULTRA graphics to enjoy games
...

What is your resolution?
What is your resolution scale?
What is your anti-aliasing set to?

All those things will have a significant impact on FPS. I had a hard time sticking to 144Hz flat with my GTX 980 with a 6 core Intel at 1440p 100% resolution scale 0x AA. This is why I said that. Everything on Ultra otherwise.
Like (1)


Joined: 9th Jan 2016
Rank: Key leads
Likes 323
30th Sep 2016

1080P

you don't need 1440p to enjoy ultra too.... you just see the game a little smaller
Like (1)


Live every evening around 7 PM EST @ http://www.twitch.tv/stup ... idk0ala

Forum » Community » General Discussion
Please login or register to reply.
Discord App Widget
Chat Box
TwinGunsLLP 4:37 PM
Vizitator 4:25 PM
Hopefully will be back soon
TwinGunsLLP 4:22 PM
Doh dat server #1 crash
TwinGunsLLP 2:20 PM
Nice to see devs who seem to care about the players, might be promising!
TwinGunsLLP 2:19 PM
Oh nice, it's available now! Anxious to hear from people how it is.
TwinGunsLLP 1:21 PM
World War 3 game off to a promising start lol. https://twitter.com/ww3th ... egame
TwinGunsLLP 1:14 PM
Post your credit card number here so I can confirm, thanks.
lordteapot 10:08 AM
Rare Nike Total Shox Black/Silver Metallic
lordteapot 10:07 AM
i googled the exact amount, 545.16, some nice shoes
lordteapot 10:07 AM
on my card lol
lordteapot 10:07 AM
someone tried to charge 545 to nike.com
Angry_Cuban13 18th Oct
I don't think BFV is going to make much of a dent. might kill server 10 but I think Server 1 is going to stay alive for a min
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
So watched the single player trailer for BFV. Did they lose the robot arm broad? Still looks like a complete turd of a game.
OrangeEnergyJeb 18th Oct
Server 1 is the best!
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
Seeing as it's one the last 64 player policed servers (very well I might add) it will likely continue on as other servers dies and people need a place to see. #1 FO LYFE.
TwinGunsLLP 18th Oct
"Dying out"? The game is five years old, and there's almost always a waiting list on a 64 player server for most parts of the day. That's pretty incredible really.
Esgee 18th Oct
well good riddance then i guess, seeing as to how you ban players so frequently. reminds me of one operation locker server that used to be full all the time but too many bans were handed out and now its empty
Angry_Cuban13 18th Oct
"faithful player" TKs other players waiting for attack chopper.
kombattkilla 18th Oct
these servers are dying out dudes
kombattkilla 18th Oct
im a faithful player on this server aned always play fair with my mates, wtf is this shit
Online Members
JL
18 minutes ago
Online Guests: 27