How to setup raid
Forum » Community » General Discussion
Joined: 21st Jan 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 107
5th Oct 2016

Hey guys! 

I really want to setup raid on my HDDs and was wondering how to do it with this motherboard: https://us.msi.com/Mother ... l#hero-specification

I want to setup the raid that makes write speed super fast. I think its RAID 0

Do I need to buy a part? 
Joined: 3rd Jun 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 134
5th Oct 2016

Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver \ It is in the driver section of that motherboards downloads. The instructions are in appendex b in your motherboard user manual. You need 2 hard drives or 2 ssd. They don't have to be the same size, or speed for that matter. but just like sli or crossfire the lower speed and size traits will prevail. It works best with identical parts.
Like (1)


Last Edit: 5th Oct 2016 by UrbanCamper
Joined: 23rd Jan 2016
Rank: BFLevelTwo
Likes 17
9th Oct 2016

QuoteIntel Rapid Storage Technology Driver \ It is in the driver section of that motherboards downloads. The instructions are in appendex b in your motherboard user manual. You need 2 hard drives or  2 ssd. They don't have to be the same size, or speed for that matter. but just like sli or crossfire the lower speed and size traits will prevail. It works best with identical parts.

...

I agree, they don't NEED to be identical side and speeds. However, it is advisable for them to be the same size and speed.

RAID 0 is not a "true" RAID because there is no redundancy. In fact, you are increasing chance of losing data due to drive failure because EITHER drive 1 OR drive 2 can fail in order for you to lose all of the data.

That being said, the read/write performance will be close to 2x (not quite 2x) with RAID 0 compared to what one of those drives will be capable of. RAID 0 on HDDs will not be too beneficial for you. If you absolutely want to do RAID 0, I would suggest doing it on 2 SSDs.

However, further to that point, RAID 0 on 2 conventional SSDs is still much slower than PCIe (or M.2) SSDs. Typically, with conventional SATA 6G SSDs, you are limited by the SATA 6G speeds, so at most you will get around 520 MB/s sequential. With PCIe / M.2 / NVMe SSDs, you sequential read speeds can be up to 2,500 MB/s and sequential writes can be up to 1,500 MB/s. Obviously, this is MUCH faster than RAID 0 conventional SSD pairs.

Then, we go onto RAM drives, where you are only limited by the speed of your RAM. Faster the RAM, the faster your RAM drive will operate. You could have a 30GB RAM drive that could run at 12,000 MB/s (however they are VERY expensive).


Joined: 21st Jan 2016
Rank: Registered
Likes 107
9th Oct 2016

Is it possible to have 2 different raids on the same system?

Also, with my motherboard manual it says that sata port 5 and 6 will be unavailable while using M.2 so does that mean I have to disconnect my disk drive? I have 2 SSDs and 2 HDDs already connected. In my manual, it says it in page 104.
Joined: 23rd Jan 2016
Rank: BFLevelTwo
Likes 17
9th Oct 2016

QuoteIs it possible to have 2 different raids on the same system?

Also, with my motherboard manual it says that sata port 5 and 6 will be unavailable while using M.2 so does that mean I have to disconnect my disk drive? I have 2 SSDs and 2 HDDs already connected. In my manual, it says it in page 104.

...

It should be possible to have 2 different RAIDs.

Port 5 and 6 are SATA Express ports. So, they use a few lanes from your available PCIe lanes. We had a conversation on this the other day how the 4790K only has 16 PCIe lanes. So sometimes they have to share. By share, I mean you get M.2 or Sata Express, one or the other. 

You can move your drives to SATA port 1, 2, 3, and 4. If you have a CD drive, you can just remove it. No one uses it anymore anyways. This is only required if you plan on buying an M.2 SSD. Otherwise, leave it as is.

As UrbanCamper pointed out, Appendix B is your friend when it comes to RAID related activities on the motherboard. 

In my opinion thought, I would stay away from RAID 0. You should be adding redundancy, not going the other way for a small amount of performance gains.


Forum » Community » General Discussion
Please login or register to reply.
Discord App Widget
Chat Box
Angry_Cuban13 17th Apr
Join Discord and vote "YES" or "NO" to remove Dragon Valley from rotatioN!
Angry_Cuban13 15th Apr
FUNK IS BACK
funkadelik 15th Apr
What happened to the teamspeak? Is everyone using Discord these days?
Angry_Cuban13 15th Apr
Sh!v3r, we have a HC server but since we came a little late into the BF1 game we haven't had much luck with it
Sh!v3r_MethGOD 15th Apr
who runs migaming and is dyn00mite retired?
Sh!v3r_MethGOD 15th Apr
Does migaming having any battlefield 1 servers
godsowndelta 15th Apr
i cant find my family
Angry_Cuban13 14th Apr
Great. DSL level ping
JL 14th Apr
ORG platoon has 9 members on server 1 lol
JL 14th Apr
BR invasion
Angry_Cuban13 14th Apr
TwinGuns, you should consider temporarily joining Discord to participate in some of the voting we'll be having. You can disable notifications unless they mention you directly.
Da-Jesuss 13th Apr
need good monitoring software for CPU and GPU
Angry_Cuban13 12th Apr
Try now.
Joathans 12th Apr
I was trying to apply to be a seeder and i get the access denied. what am i doing wrong?
Online Members
None
Online Guests: 9